Staying cool in Oman & Manchester United

I arrived in Oman on Monday and one thing that I was prepared for was the heat. The weather in Oman was a topic of hot conversation with both the team at Al Ahlam Education in Muscat and the students that I met. As well as wanting to know what clothes to buy, in anticipation for the UK’s weather (answer none, buy them in the UK!), the majority of our new students wanted to hear all about Manchester United Football Club.

As a Bolton Wanderers supporter I was slightly disappointed that I couldn’t convince the students to become ‘wanders’ supporters, but it was good to talk about our shared admiration for Bolton’s ex goal keeper, Ali – Al Habsi who is from Oman.

Beyond football we also spoke at length about the excellent facilities at our campus, such as our library that is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. It offers students an amazing study environment. I’m really looking forward to welcoming our new students in September.

– Jo

