No walking in Muscat – and Vimto

As I’m new to Muscat the easiest way to get around the city is by taxi. Which is fantastic as you get see how beautiful the city is and start to learn more about the people who live in this amazing city. This was one of pictures I shot on route.

Sky scape in Muscat

The Western Al Hajar Mountains dominate the landscape of Muscat and are truly impressive.

Today I had the opportunity to visit The International College of Engineering and Management, one of our partner colleges in the region. I met with Martin Brown the Dean of the college and we discussed at length our current programs and how we can encourage students to complete their fourth year of studies in the UK. We are looking at new and exciting ways to promoting our courses from September 2013. I also managed to sneak a quick counseling session with a member of staff at the college, who is looking to study at UCLan in the future!

My next appointment of the day was to visit to the Ministry of Higher Education. I was very honored to meet the team and to learn more information about the ministry’s vision for the higher education provision for Omani students.

My last appointment of the day was meet to the team at IDP Education. I was really impressed with the level of knowledge of the team and they were kind enough to arrange some student counselling sessions. I love to help students explore their all their options for education in the UK: from entry into our excellent foundation campus; improving their English on our summer pre-sessional course; to direct entry into our undergraduate and postgraduate taught courses.

One thing that caught me by surprise today is that Vimto is massively popular in the Gulf. I consider Vimto to be a truly mancunian (a local expression for people who come from Manchester) drink, so I’ll be interested for our students to do a taste test, when they get to the UK, to see whether they think it tastes same!

– Jo

