UCLan at the A2 international recruitment fairs in Turkey

I travelled to Turkey with Paul Elmer, Senior Lecturer from the Lancashire Business School and Imren Waller, Lecturer from the school of Languages and International studies. This was my second time travelling to Turkey after my last trip in 2009. This time we travelled to Ankara, Istanbul, Izmir and Bursa.

I was looking forward to seeing different parts of Turkey and this was an ideal itinerary. We attended the A2 fairs in each of these cities and got to meet with other institutions from all over the world.

Working with our agent British Education Bureau, we have been trying very hard to promote the UCLan BEB excellence award this year. Worth 50% of the tuition fees for one student only, there is a real sense of competition for this year’s scholarship. The award is either for the first year of an undergraduate programme or for a masters’ programme (1 year). If you feel you could qualify for the scholarship, please do feel free to contact me for more information as the deadline for the scholarship applications is 30.06.2012 and students must have an unconditional offer before applying for the scholarship.

This year, our scholarship winners have had a great time becoming UCLan ambassadors and really made the most of their time at UCLan.  For further information, please contact either me or any BEB office in Turkey.  While in Istanbul, I was very lucky to meet two successful Alumni from Istanbul, Mehmet Oksuzer and Mehmet Umut Bakir, who have respectively studied the MSc Operations Management and a certificate in Applied in Languages.

Mehmet O. (pictured below) now works in the field of logistics for a company in Istanbul and Mehmet B. works for LG.

They were both happy and grateful for their experience at UCLan and both felt their UCLan qualification helped them secure employment upon their return to Turkey.  Whilst in Turkey, we also enjoyed typical Turkish delicacies such as Loukoum (more commonly known as Turkish delight) in a range of flavours (Rose, mint, coconut and more!).

Paul, whose wife is Turkish also introduced me to a very nice Kebap restaurant in Istanbul.

It must have been a very posh kebap restaurant I have ever been to and the food was delicious!

On my last day in Istanbul, I found out Daniel Craig was filming in Istanbul for the next James Bond film. Despite scrutinizing every blocked street, I was not able to catch a glance of the action but I have to say it was the perfect day to film. Istanbul’s seaside is quite amazing to look at!

– Lily

